Wrapping ReactJS web app in React Native - Push notifications?

(peterm) #1

I’ve built a beautiful app that looks great on desktop, tablets, and mobile web. Architecturally, would it be possible to use React Native’s WebView so I can put in the iOS app store and to send push notifications to users?

I’m new to React Native, so I just wanted to see if that would be possible. I’m not interested in recreating my app from scratch using React Native. The purpose of wrapping is just for notifications.

(peterm) #2

I’ve done some light reading. So far, I’m thinking this should be possible. After looking at react-native-login example app, the app should begin on a web view of the login page. Once authenticated, I’ll capture the the authentication cookie in the response and request permissions through PushNotificationIOS API. Once permissions are granted, I’ll call my server’s rest api to persist the Device ID for push notifications (including the auth cookie). After that’s done, I’ll show my app full screen in a WebView. Then, when needed, my service can send calls to APN for push notifications, including the Device ID.

If anyone has holes to poke in my ideas here, please do so! Much appreciated.

(Dan Tello) #3

I’d love to hear how this has been going - I’ve been considering going down a similar path.

(peterm) #4

@greypants So I don’t actually have it altogether end-to-end, however, I can tell you it is definitely possible. When I originally posted this, I hadn’t really used any of the tech, but had a 50,000 ft understanding of it all. Conceptually, I was correct.