what is the best IDE for React?

(Jurgob) #1

My current editor is Atom + language-babel and linter-eslint plugins.
I’ve tried nuclide.io but I was quite disapointed from it. What are you using right now?

(Joe) #2

I use Sublime Text and the babel plugin and the oceanic color scheme (plus a ton of other plugins). Works really well. Haven’t experimented with eslint+react or flow integration, yet, though.

(Eric Masiello) #3

I started playing around with Nuclide. I don’t really have a favorite at the moment. I’ve been trying a bunch of them. What didn’t you like about Nuclide?

(Jurgob) #4

it was slow and it makes my atom crash.
I was also expecting and auto completition for Flow objects but it was not present

(Eric Masiello) #5

I installed Nuclide cuz of some of the React Native stuff they had built in. The ‘style inspector’ they have is cool but I was really disappointed that it doesn’t let you edit the styles of your RN app like you can in Chrome when inspecting styles of a web page.

(marher) #6

I was really hopeful for Nuclide but after a few days of getting frustrated with its responsiveness, I went back To WebStorm.

(Jurgob) #7

@marher do you use babel and eslint? I’m not using it basically becouse I was not able to configure the eslint plugin to make it work in the same way of the eslint cli command.

(Harshad Kale) #8

Since we develop our server using Rails and have been using RubyMine for that, I continued using it for React code as well. I like it very much. It supports javascript code tooling just as good as any other languages. I think it’s the same as what WebStorm is, just supports Ruby in addition. My favorite feature is ability to debug Jest tests we write.

(Harshad Kale) #9

You probably have already tried this but eslint-plugin-react plug-in has been working well for me and I invoke eslint on my chain of grunt tasks.

(marher) #10

@jurgob - No, I’m not. Webstorm gives me problems with configuring also other plugins (eg. compass)