Static Type Checking - could use some experienced guiding

(Ben Carp) #1

There are many ways to use static type checking - TypeScript, Flow, and in React proptypes. Any thoughts or recommendation as to which to use for React projects?
Also, this is Flow’s instructions for using flow with Create-React-App https://flow.org/en/docs/tools/create-react-app/ . They instruct you on how to use it with Yarn, but I use NPM. Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance!

(Eric Masiello) #2

I have some experience with all 3, some more than others. Here’s my quick summary of the pros/cons of each:

React PropTypes:

• + Easiest to set up
  • + Does development-only run time analysis of your components to verify the correct data is being passed to components
  • + Requires no additional configuration beyond what you already would use for compiling/bundling React
  • - Only useful for React components (no way to type check anything that isn’t React)
  • - Does not provide static analysis of your components at author time. In other words, you won’t be able to use tools like VSCode to tell you at author-time whether or not the way you’re writing your code is valid. The only way you’ll know is by running it in the browser and then letting the PropTypes library output errors to your browser console

Flow

• + Provides static analysis of all your JavaScript - not just React components
  • + Relatively easy to setup if you’re already using Babel
  • + Decent to good IDE integration (for things like VSCode, Atom, etc.)
  • + Good documentation
  • + Very easy to mix Flow type checked and non-Flow type checked code
  • - 3rd party library support is less than stellar once you step outside the React ecosystem which means there’s good chance you’ll end of writing a lot of type definitions for libraries you didn’t author
  • - I find the errors produced by Flow difficult to decipher